Select one of the keywords
Until the Knight Comes    by Sue-Ellen Welfonder order for
Until the Knight Comes
by Sue-Ellen Welfonder
Order:  USA  Can
Warner, 2006 (2006)

Read an Excerpt

* *   Reviewed by Kim Atchue-Cusella

Lady Mariota Macnicol rebels against her family's wishes when she takes Hugh Aleson, the bastard of Drumodyn, as a lover. She believes that he will eventually ask her to marry him, but all her hopes are dashed when she happens upon him in bed with the local alewife.

Hugh has a heart attack when he is discovered and the alewife thrusts Lady Mariota's dagger through his heart when she realizes her source of income is gone. Lady Mariota is accused of murder and imprisoned in a dungeon, from where her companion, Nessa helps her to escape.

Sir Kenneth MacKenzie is a newly appointed knight who has arrived to take possession of his inheritance, when he finds the two women bathing in the waters on his land. He is amused when Lady Mariota announces that she is the lady of the keep, waiting for her husband - she has to recant the story when Sir Kenneth tells her that he just inherited the place.

Sue-Ellen Welfonder creates a captivating tale that brings Scotland's beauty to your eyes. Lady Mariota is a feisty character, and Sir Kenneth wants to keep her in his life, though both have vowed not to fall in love. Until the Knight Comes is a fabulous read that will keep you turning pages long into the night.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Romance books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews