Select one of the keywords
The Knitting Diaries    by Debbie Macomber, Susan Mallery & Christina Skye order for
Knitting Diaries
by Debbie Macomber
Order:  USA  Can
Mira, 2011 (2011)
Paperback, e-Book
* *   Reviewed by Martina Bexte

Veteran storytellers Debbie Macomber, Susan Mallery and Christina Skye have teamed together in this themed anthology that not only showcases their passion for writing, but also for knitting.

Macomber starts off the trilogy with The Twenty-First Wish, that has bookstore owner Anne Marie and her adopted daughter Ellen moving away from Blossom Street and wishing to get closer to Ellen's biological dad so they might become a real family.

In Mallery's Coming Unraveled, Robin Mulligan finally admits that her dream to star on Broadway has gone bust. She heads home to Texas to help her grandmother run her knitting shop under the mistrustful eye of T.J. Passman, a man with a tragic past.

And in Return to Summer Island, Christina Skye examines the aftermath of a car accident that leaves Caro McNeal's hand crippled. Unable to knit, she finds solace in the letters she sends to a local soldier stationed in Afghanistan.

All three of these tales share the prerequisite small town, feel-good setting, particularly Macomber's contribution, which is another spin-off of her long running Blossom Street series. Mallery and Skye offer less simplistic stories, each one presenting just the right amount of conflict and character development.

Together with a pleasing dose of light romance, The Knitting Diaries offers three knitting projects that readers - or fellow knitters - may choose to create.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Romance books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews