Select one of the keywords
Kill Me Again: Secrets of Shadow Falls Book 2    by Maggie Shayne order for
Kill Me Again
by Maggie Shayne
Order:  USA  Can
Mira, 2010 (2010)
Paperback, e-Book

Read an Excerpt

* * *   Reviewed by Martina Bexte

English professor Olivia Dupree is thrilled when Aaron Westhaven, a novelist she has admired for years, agrees to a private speaking engagement at her college. But instead of welcoming him to her home, she's called to the Shadow Falls hospital to identify the John Doe, who has nothing but her business card in his pocket and has survived an execution style gunshot.

The cops, the doctors, and professor Dupree might think he's Aaron Westhaven, but for John Doe the identity of a literary phenomenon doesn't feel right. Certain that those who want him dead will come back to finish the job, Westhaven flees the hospital, turning to Olivia for help and insight into his supposed past. As his memories slowly begin returning however, it's soon clear to Westhaven that he's no famous novelist, and that both he and Olivia have now become separate targets.

Kill Me Again is a fast moving and engaging story that puts a nice twist on the amnesiac plot device. Olivia is no shrinking violet who lets the hero do all the work. Rather she saves him on more than one occasion as both she and Aaron work together to discover his identity, as well as trying to stop those who want to silence her for what she's kept hidden for the past sixteen years.

The leads' romance is also well done as Olivia places her trust in a man with no history, and who could well be part of the ugly plot against her. Shayne's including a loyal and heroic mastiff to this pleasant romantic mix only adds to the panache of this second instalment in the Secrets of Shadow Falls trilogy.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Romance books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews