Select one of the keywords
Border Lass    by Amanda Scott order for
Border Lass
by Amanda Scott
Order:  USA  Can
Forever, 2008 (2008)
* *   Reviewed by Kim Atchue-Cusella

Amalie Murray does not want to marry and certainly not the man her family has chosen for her. Sir Harold Boyd is far too bold when he speaks to Amalie and she can't stand the sight of him. Amalie is serving as one of Princess Isabel Stewart's ladies and enjoys a comforting friendship with her.

Sir Garth Napier assumes the role of a Baron when his father dies. He has been asked to look into the death of Isabel's first husband James, the second earl of Douglas. Garth catches Amalie when he sees her lurking outside a room where the men are planning something dangerous. Furious, he takes her away and demands to know what she heard. He is attracted to her and can't figure out why.

Amalie does not trust Garth and is not forthcoming with the information that he wants. She is highly attracted to him though and is shocked when he kisses her and she likes it. Garth knows he needs to keep a close eye on Amalie because she doesn't seem to know when to keep quiet.

Though Border Lass follows Border Wedding, it can be read standalone. The descriptions have you picturing the castles while reading. Amanda Scott does an extraordinary job with the characters of Amalie and Garth. Amalie is a strong willed heroine but she also has a tender side. Garth is strong and handsome, but also honorable and trustworthy. I eagerly await the last story in the series, Border Moonlight, that spotlights secondary character Sibylla.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Romance books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews