Select one of the keywords
Chosen: A House of Night Novel    by P. C. Cast & Kristin Cast Amazon.com order for
Chosen
by P. C. Cast
Order:  USA  Can
Griffin, 2008 (2008)
Softcover
* * *   Reviewed by Ricki Marking-Camuto

Fans of P. C. and Kristin Cast's House of Night series, hold on to your hats! Picking up right after Betrayed left off, the third installment, Chosen, is one bumpy, wild ride. This is a book not to be missed.

Things are not looking great at all for high-vampyre-priestess-in-training Zoey Redbird. Her best friend is now one of the undead dead; the only other fledging she can really talk to is her boyfriend's ex; she still cannot break the Imprint with her human boyfriend; a teacher at her school keeps coming on to her; and her mother is trying to convert her to the People of Faith. Oh, and the head of the school has it out for her.

Luckily, it is winter break, so she does not have to worry about school for now. While things are by no means ideal, Zoey does seem to have her life somewhat under control until one of the vampyres is found murdered most likely by the People of Faith. This event causes Zoey's life to unravel, also irrevocably changing the lives of two others in the process.

The biggest theme carried through all of Chosen is that of trust. While Zoey's trust issues might be unique, they help readers connect with her because all teenagers go through a period when they are wondering who they can trust and realizing that there are also people who trust them. This helps to further endear Zoey to readers' hearts. The Casts do an excellent job of bringing Zoey's feelings to the forefront and thus taking readers on an emotional ride that cannot be stopped.

The ride that is Chosen comes to an abrupt end in a cliffhanger that will have fans cheering and enthusiastically anticipating the fourth House of Night novel. P. C. and Kristin Cast have really outdone themselves this time.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Teens books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews