Select one of the keywords
Death Before Wicket: A Phryne Fisher Mystery    by Kerry Greenwood order for
Death Before Wicket
by Kerry Greenwood
Order:  USA  Can
Poisoned Pen, 2008 (2008)
* *   Reviewed by Mary Ann Smyth

Phryne Fisher is in Sydney, Australia in 1928, ostensibly to take a break from her investigative work thus giving her companion Dot and herself some much needed down time. Alas, all is not as it seems.

She has been recruited by two college students to prove their friend and fellow student did not break into the college's safe and steal certain articles that were of no real intrinsic value except to a collector. The friend is threatened with expulsion from the school, which would ruin his chances for a career. One thing leads to another, and Phryne finds herself tracking Dot's sister Joan, who seems to have disappeared, as well as the mother of one of the young men.

As usual, Phryne gets to wear exotic clothing and do good deeds as well as being trapped in a well with an available man. Only Phryne could take advantage of the situation to have a lovely, passionate sexual encounter while waiting to be rescued. Of course all's well that ends well. Almost everyone involved is happy with the outcome, which employs Hercule Poirot's method of unmasking the villain. Of course, the villain slinks away, not to be seen again.

If you, the reader, have a passion for cricket, this is the book for you. I know nothing of cricket and really don't care to learn. But with author Kerry Greenwood's descriptive phrasing, it sounds as though one could get through a game or two. Her research on the game of cricket is extensive and bogged me down a time or two. But I could forgive Ms. Greenwood almost anything, as long as she keeps Phryne Fisher alive and well.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews