Select one of the keywords
Raging Silence: A Novel In Five Acts    by Amanda Stone order for
Raging Silence
by Amanda Stone
Order:  USA  Can
Synergy, 2006 (2006)

Read an Excerpt

*   Reviewed by Sally Selvadurai

Raging Silence is a book that documents the psychological damage done to individuals and families by abuse - sexual, verbal and physical - and the influence that this has on the lives of ordinary people. We all carry with us a history of encounters and events from our birth to our grave and these fashion our personalities and interpersonal relationships; however, some people and families suffer more cruelties than others.

Amanda Stone's Starling family is one of these the parents (Melena and Ernest) marry young and have continual problems throughout their marriage, and the children (Blackwell, Luke and Elizabeth) suffer through their parents' many crises. Elizabeth does not hide her mental suffering as the boys do; taking to wearing Goth outfits and penning dark thoughts, she tries to please her increasingly unstable mother while attempting to reconnect with her estranged father. As in most abusive situations, nothing gets settled by the end of the novel, and we have to assume that the characters continue their lives, carrying their emotional burdens to the grave.

Although Amanda Stone's novel has a very convincing and touching storyline, her prose leaves much to be desired, and actually is a deterrent to finishing the novel. It is therefore not a book I would recommend; however, I do commend Stone for her attempt to highlight the emotional baggage that accompanies any type of abuse and the effect it has on our lives and the lives of those around us.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Contemporary books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews