Select one of the keywords
Marky & The Seagull    by Deanna Luke & Lynne Chambers order for
Marky & The Seagull
by Deanna Luke
Order:  USA  Can
Bow, 2001 (2001)
*   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

Marky & The Seagull is the 6th in a series of 'books promoting values and principles', aimed at ages 6 to 9. Marky is a little boy, curious about everything around him, who shares all his experiences with the reader. In this episode, his family is heading to the grandparents' beach house and Granny T has told Marky to bring lots of bread for the seagulls. He has enjoyed anticipating the visit, and has even practiced snorkeling in the bathtub.

Soon after they arrive, so do Aunt Libby and Uncle Mo and they have a big surprise for the rest of the family. Accompanying them is small Mikey, who has recently come to live with them. Marky shares his feelings about this along with his excitement about feeding the gulls, snorkeling, watching the shrimp boats, fishing in the ocean, and helping an injured seagull.

Though Marky & The Seagull is slightly flawed (by the introduction of a mysterious parcel that is never explained), it's a sweet and informative story that shares a particular type of experience (the seaside in this volume) in the kind of detail that kids like to absorb.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Kids books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews