Select one of the keywords
Midnight Games: Fear Street Nights    by R. L. Stine order for
Midnight Games
by R. L. Stine
Order:  USA  Can
Pulse, 2005 (2005)
* *   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

Midnight Games follows Moonlight Secrets as the second episode in Fear Street Nights. It all started with teens taking treasures out of the old Fear Street Mansion, as it was being demolished. Strange and horrible things began to happen ...

The previous episode ended on a cliffhanger, in which Candy's neck was broken in the presence of Nate, Nikki and Nate's wild friend, Shark. Now they all have nightmares. They're part of a group of teen Night People (started by Jamie and Lewis in the first episode) who sneak out regularly and, unbeknownst to their parents, congregate at an all-night bar, Nights.

Jamie is obsessed with contacting her dead cousin Cindy's spirit, and attempts spells from an old spellbook she found. Jamie's poor cousin Dana Fear shows up to stay with her, just after Nate is attacked by a vicious, one-eyed blackbird. Odd happenings surround Dana, people start to die, and she is blamed - after all, she's a Fear, so she must be an insane murderer.

R. L. Stine can always be counted on to deliver horrific stories with twisty plots. Midnight Games ends with a frightening cry - 'The evil lives! The evil lives!' And it plans its revenge in Darkest Dawn.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Teens books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews