Select one of the keywords
Assassin's Mark: David Slaton    by Ward Larsen order for
Assassin's Mark
by Ward Larsen
Order:  USA  Can
Forge, 2023 (2023)
Hardcover, e-Book
* *   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

Assassin's Mark continues Ward Larsen's improbable but gripping thriller series starring legendary assassin David Slaton. He was originally trained by Mossad as a sniper. He is married to American physician Christine Palmer, and they have a son, Davy, and another child on the way. In exchange for his family's protection, Slaton takes on missions for the CIA.

As this episode opens, Marine One is shot down in the river near East Potomac Park. A jogger (ex-Navy and now an EMT) saves President Elayne Cleveland, but she's badly injured and taken to Walter Reed. The Vice President takes control and Slaton is summoned to D.C.. But leadership in the CIA is being changed, and not for the better. A lawyer without operational experience takes charge. He orders Slaton to eliminate three important Chinese nationals - in China.

An assassin, Monkh, is tasked to take a second shot at the President, with support from a high-level insider. Monkh also targets Slaton and comes close to succeeding. Then the hunted becomes a hunter once more, and heads to Washington.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews