Select one of the keywords
Silent Parade: Detective Galileo #4    by Keigo Higashino order for
Silent Parade
by Keigo Higashino
Order:  USA  Can
Minotaur, 2021 (2021)
Hardcover, e-Book
* * *   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

Keigo Higashino (author of excellent mysteries including A Midsummer's Equation, The Devotion of Suspect X, and Under the Midnight Sun) is one of Japan's most successful mystery writers - for good reason. Silent Parade is his fourth novel featuring physicist Manabu Yukawa, dubbed Detective Galileo for his brilliant work as a police consultant. Yukawa has 'extraordinary powers of deduction.'

Much of what happens centers on a family restaurant owned by the Namikis. Their elder daughter Saori disappeared three years before. Saori was a lovely, popular girl with exceptional talent as a singer. She'd hoped to become a professional singer and took lessons. Then she went missing. As the story opens, the family hear from the police - Saori's remains have been found in the ashes of a burned house.

Tokyo Homicide Chief Inspector Kusanagi is asked to take on the case because the house had belonged to the mother of a man tried twenty years before for the murder of a young girl. Kanichi Hasunuma was released due to lack of evidence and it was Kusanagi's case. Once again circumstantial evidence points to Hasunuma but there's no real proof of his guilt. Hasunuma goes on to harass the Namikis, demanding compensation for the false accusation.

What follows reminds me of Agatha Christie's Murder on the Orient Express. Here the suspected killer dies during an annual street festival. DCI Kusanagi turns to Dr. Yukawa for help. Of course, he does figure it out and there's quite a twist of an ending. Silent Parade is all about the ripples that spread out from an act of violence. Don't miss this one!

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews