Select one of the keywords
Assassin's Dawn: David Slaton #8    by Ward Larsen order for
Assassin's Dawn
by Ward Larsen
Order:  USA  Can
Forge, 2021 (2021)
* * *   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

Assassin's Dawn is a prequel novella to Ward Larsen's improbable but engrossing thriller series starring legendary assassin David Slaton. Recruited out of university, he was trained by Mossad as a sniper.

Mossad director Bloch ascribes Slaton's incredible intensity and focus as due to his having an account to settle - with terrorist Ramzi Tayeb, 'notorious for targeting noncombatants to achieve the most gruesome possible headlines.' Tayeb's victims include David's wife and small daughter.

He's assigned an operation in Luxembourg, to hack a laptop, upload its files and install Trojan horse software - the laptop belongs to Ramzi’s financier brother Moussa, who works for him. While David does his work in Moussa's hotel room, gorgeous fellow agent Anna Altman distracts him in the hotel bar.

When Moussa is found shot, Mossad orders the team to abort and leave the country, but David disobeys after learning that Ramzi Tayeb might be in Luxembourg. After more violence, he arranges to meet the terrorist up close and personal. Slaton learns Tayeb's secrets, and avenges his loved ones.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews