Select one of the keywords
The Marmalade Murders: A Penny Brannigan Mystery    by Elizabeth J. Duncan order for
Marmalade Murders
by Elizabeth J. Duncan
Order:  USA  Can
Minotaur, 2019 (2019)
Hardcover, e-Book
* *   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

The Marmalade Murders is the ninth in Elizabeth J. Duncan's cozy mystery series starring amateur investigator Penny Brannigan in Llanelen, North Wales. This time the marmalade's the thing that will lead to catching a killer!

It all centers on the annual Llanelen agricultural show that features farm animals outdoors and cakes, pies, pastries, chutneys, jams etc. indoors. Artist/spa owner Penny finds herself and her spa partner Victoria volunteered to handle the domestic arts entries and judge the children's pet competition.

Oddly, a marmalade entry and a cake (from admired local baker Florence) go missing, and the winning marmalade was not handed in to Penny and Victoria - what gives? Even more surprisingly, a dead body (that of the Welsh Women's Guild President) is found under the baked goods table the next day.

As always, Penny tries to get to the bottom of both the minor mystery and the murder (especially after a transgender woman becomes the chief suspect) and, of course, one solves the other. Overall, The Marmalade Murders is a pleasant read in an appealing setting.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews