Select one of the keywords
Dark Rhapsody: A Maggie O'Shea Mystery    by Helaine Mario order for
Dark Rhapsody
by Helaine Mario
Order:  USA  Can
Oceanview, 2018 (2018)
Hardcover, e-Book
* * *   Reviewed by Mary Ann Smyth

Dark Rhapsody by Helaine Mario is a book not to be missed. My only complaint is that it ended! I wanted this marvelous work to go on and on.

The Nazis' heartless plundering of priceless art and music lies at the heart of the plot. In 1945, after World War II, some of this plunder is discovered secreted near an Alpine lake and a search starts for the rightful owners.

Many years later, concert pianist Maggie O'Shea is preparing for a performance when a psychotic stalker she thought dead makes his appearance known - as well as his intention to begin stalking her again.

Maggie has not had an easy life. She feels there is a mystery about her mother's death, and wonders why her father left a concert while he was conducting an orchestra. She has also had to deal with the sudden death of her husband. Feeling battle weary, she is now trying to get her life back by returning to the stage.

Dark Rhapsody is full of references to well-known figures in the world of music and to paintings worth millions of dollars, each of which takes the breath away. This reader got the feeling of traveling in Maggie's world.

Dark Rhapsody is intriguing, suspenseful, full of courage, the strength of friendships, and a delight in the world of art and music. It is the second in the Maggie O'Shea mysteries, following The Lost Concerto.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews