Select one of the keywords
Assassin's Silence: A David Slaton Novel    by Ward Larsen order for
Assassin's Silence
by Ward Larsen
Order:  USA  Can
Forge, 2016 (2016)
Hardcover, e-Book
* *   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

I missed the beginning of this series starring skilled assassin David Slaton, who used to work for Mossad. As Assassin's Silence opens, he has retired and is employed as a stonemason in Malta. His American wife, physician Christine Palmer in Virginia, believes him dead and he's never seen his small son Davy.

The story opens in Syria, where scavenging children come upon a valuable find, but one that causes radiation sickness for all who come into its orbit - we know that this discovery will play a role in what follows. Back to David, who comes under attack by a team of mercenary killers. He escapes but wonders how he survived, and why they were after him. He decides to find out, and moves through Europe, killers hot on his trail. He takes them out one by one. What is the endgame?

Next we watch the purchase and transfer of an airliner, and the faking of its crash into the ocean. The plot thickens fast as the CIA, under Agent Anna Sorenson search for the airplane. David, sensing that the plot somehow centers on him, sends an old friend to the United States to watch over his wife and child. And, with help from the CIA, he zeroes in on the toxic aircraft. But will he survive and ever reunite with his family?

You'll have to read Assassin's Silence to find out. This engrossing spy thriller is well worth your time.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews