Select one of the keywords
One Man's Flag: A Jack McColl Novel    by David Downing order for
One Man's Flag
by David Downing
Order:  USA  Can
Soho, 2015 (2015)
Hardcover, e-Book
* *   Reviewed by Bob Walch

The follow up to David Downing's acclaimed, Jack of Spies, this World War One thriller finds Britain assailed on a number of fronts. Not only is the war in Europe an international bloodbath costing thousands of lives but revolutionary activities in India and Ireland are a source of concern as well.

Agent Jack McColl, currently assigned to India, must find and stop a shipment of German arms meant to bolster the plans of native revolutionaries set on overthrowing British rule.

Meanwhile, Caitlyn Hanley, McColl's former girlfriend and an American journalist, grimly awaits the execution of her brother in Ireland for his involvement in a plot to overthrow the British. Even harder to take is the fact that her one-lime lover, McColl, was responsible for her brother's betrayal.

As this latest installment of the series unfolds, McColl and Hanley will be reunited in Ireland but the terms of their relationship will be much different. Betrayal will again undermine their feelings for one another but this time one of them might not walk clear of their Irish encounter.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews