Select one of the keywords
Liberty Bar: Inspector Maigret    by Georges Simenon order for
Liberty Bar
by Georges Simenon
Order:  USA  Can
Penguin, 2015 (1932)
Softcover, e-Book
* * *   Reviewed by Tim Davis

First published in France by Fayard in 1932, Georges Simenon's Liberty Bar, available now in David Watson's 2015 Penguin translation, begins with a car driving in a straight line and crashing into a rock.

The driver of the car, alas, is dead, but the car crash is not the cause of his death. Instead, the man, William Brown, has died because of 'a little love story that turned out badly.' More than that, Brown's mysterious past – indeed, his double-life - has been a significant reason for his demise on the beautiful Cote d’Azur in France.

Of course, another man in the story, Detective Chief Inspector Maigret, will solve the mystery, but then – going against the letter of the law – Maigret must make a decision about whether or not anyone will be held responsible for Brown's death.

In the space of 150 fascinating pages, Simenon again demonstrates why the Maigret novels remain popular, fascinating, and compelling. So, finally, here is my advice: do yourself a favor by reading Liberty Bar. You will not be disappointed.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews