Select one of the keywords
The Sookie Stackhouse Companion    edited by Charlaine Harris order for
Sookie Stackhouse Companion
by Charlaine Harris
Order:  USA  Can
Ace, 2011 (2011)
Hardcover, e-Book
* * *   Reviewed by Lyn Seippel

If any series ever needed a bible, it's the Sookie Stackhouse series. All eleven books have complicated plots, multiple subplots, and numerous characters who show up in one book and don't return for the next three. The Sookie Stackhouse Companion sorts it all out for loyal readers. It includes everything you might have forgotten from book to book, and makes it easy to find.

Harris begins with a novella describing what happened at Sam's brotherís wedding which took place off-stage, in Wright, Texas. The wedding is mentioned in the books, but the actual event was skipped.

Victoria Koski has written a detailed Bon Temps timeline beginning with book one, Dead Until Dark where Sookie meets Bill for the first time, and ending with Dead Reckoning, book eleven. If you can't remember a past event, you can look it up. This section alone is worth the price of the book.

Sookie's growing family tree is included, plus an explanation of fairies, the two-natured, and of course vampires. All told in Sookie's voice. Secret (meaning never-before-published) dialogues between Bill and Eric offer a new insight to their rocky relationship.

Since the start of the series, multiple characters have been introduced. If you sometimes forget who's who, all of the characters - minor and major, dead or alive - are listed in alphabetical order with short bios, along with the books in which they've made appearances.

Just for fun, there's a cool two-part trivia game, divided into the easy stuff and the tough stuff. Answers are given so there'll be no arguments when you bring it out at a party. For True Blood viewers, Alan Ball answers questions from fans and gives his own spin on creating the show. Also, be sure to check out What's Cookin' in Bon Temps, where you'll find down-home recipes for every meal, including beverages. No blood needed.

The Sookie Stackhouse series is up to eleven books, all of which are listed in publication order with her short stories inserted where they belong. If you missed reading Harris' older series, they are listed in order, as well. This is a must-have for Harris readers. Plan to have fun whether you thumb through the pages or sit down for long read.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Fantasy books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews