Select one of the keywords
Maisy's Seasons    by Lucy Cousins order for
Maisy's Seasons
by Lucy Cousins
Order:  USA  Can
Candlewick, 2011 (2011)
* *   Reviewed by Bob Walch

This lift the flaps and turn the wheels activity board book features the activities Maisy and her friends love to engage in during each season. In the spring, new animal babies appear on Maisy's farm. Open the flaps to see what the new arrivals look like.

During the summer months everyone heads to the beach where Charley likes to surf fish. Turn the wheel and you'll see what he catches.

In the Fall, while the little white mouse picks apples, her friend Cyril digs in the garden and, once again, as you turn the wheel you'll see what he unearths with his shovel.

When winter returns, Maisy and all her buddies love to play in the snow. As you lift the flaps you'll find surprises such as a snow mouse and a penguin hiding in a pile of snowballs. The final two page spread contains boxes that show what other activities Maisy enjoys, like baking, shopping, dancing and reading. No matter the season, she always has time to do these things.

Always a fun read, this series of Maisy books also engages the very young child by encouraging him or her to get involved in the story by manipulating the book's movable parts and identifying various objects.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Kids books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews