Select one of the keywords
Dead Reckoning: Sookie Stackhouse #11    by Charlaine Harris order for
Dead Reckoning
by Charlaine Harris
Order:  USA  Can
Ace, 2011 (2011)
* * *   Reviewed by Lyn Seippel

Vampire politics are complicated. With a new king in power, Eric Northman (Sookie's vampire lover) has a new master who is infringing on Eric's territory. Eric and his child, Pam, are plotting to kill him before he kills them. Sookie finds herself being used as a pawn in their chess game.

As usual, there are subplots galore. At home, Sookie is cleaning out her attic with the help of her two house guests, who are fairies. One is her great-uncle Dermot and the other, her cousin Claude, who is a regular in the series. Sookie doesn't mind guests but she wonders what she's done to deserve the attention of two of the only fairies left on earth after the Faery War. In the aftermath, the portal between their worlds was closed.

When someone throws a firebomb through the window of Merlotte's, Sookie isn't sure whether she is the intended victim or if it was aimed at her two-natured boss, Sam. The sheriff naturally assumes Sookie is the target and it must be about something she's brought on herself.

Eric, because of his blood bond with Sookie, is there to protect her before she's had time to assess her damage. Mostly, her hair is seared and her apron is burned. Not able to do much else to care for her, Eric has Pam meet them at Sookie's with a top-notch hairdresser.

As usual, the complicated plot and Sookie's romance with Eric will keep the reader turning pages. You won't want to miss this installment. There are changes in store for the loving couple.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Fantasy books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews