Select one of the keywords
Trouble at the Top of the World: Screech Owls    by Roy MacGregor order for
Trouble at the Top of the World
by Roy MacGregor
Order:  USA  Can
McClelland & Stewart, 2009 (2009)

Read an Excerpt

* *   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

Roy MacGregor continues his popular Screech Owls series with Trouble at the Top of the World - the Owls participate in the Sunlight Festival tournament in the Inuit village of Pangnirtung, Nunavut. They've been allowed to miss a week of school on condition that they journal their experiences and present the experience to their public school afterwards.

Team manager Don Dillinger starts the journal, and other members (Travis, Sarah, Dmitri, and so on) continue to add entries with their impressions. There's a community feast followed by competitions. There's the hockey tournament. And, as always the Screech Owls stumble onto a mystery.

After a baby polar bear is brought in, killed by hunters, some team members head out on a snowmobile hunting trip with locals. A mysterious helicopter flies overhead, an adult bear attacks them, and they spot a ship. Later, Sam, Sarah and an Inuit boy, Zebedee, organize an expedition to investigate further - they're sure that someone is up to no good.

Despite being shot at, they bring back the evidence of criminal activities involving an endangered species. Screech Owls is a great chapter book series for young hockey fans who enjoy mysteries, or mystery fans interested in ice hockey, and Trouble at the Top of the World has an amazing Nunavut setting, not to be missed.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Kids books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews