Select one of the keywords
The Kindergarten Caper: The Screech Owls Prequel    by Roy MacGregor order for
Kindergarten Caper
by Roy MacGregor
Order:  USA  Can
McClelland & Stewart, 2008 (2008)
* *   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

In this Screech Owls mystery series prequel, the Tamarack Lord Stanley Public School kindergarten class of five-year-olds (including Travis Lindsay, Sarah Cuthbertson and Wayne Nishikawa) get to know each other as they take on the care of an injured screech owl (they call him Sidney) in class.

Initially, Travis and Sarah see Nish as a loser, and aren't happy that their moms arrange for the trio to walk to school together. Soon Sarah is amused by Nish's lies and his mooning, and even older kids treat him like a hero after this episode. But Travis is jealous of Nish's ability to always grab the spotlight.

When Travis, Sarah and Nish sign up for hockey, the former is shocked that the best player on the ice is a girl. They learn that they will be on national television as part of a program on the country's best hockey town. Though their coach is inexperienced, he's arranged for ex-great Muck Munro, who really knows his stuff, to help train them.

But before this happens, Travis and Sarah are presented with their very first mystery to solve when Sidney disappears - what could have happened to the young screech owl? They learn the truth in this well written tale and they also learn how to be proper teammates.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Kids books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews