Select one of the keywords
An Ice Cold Grave    by Charlaine Harris order for
Ice Cold Grave
by Charlaine Harris
Order:  USA  Can
Prime Crime, 2007 (2007)
* *   Reviewed by Lyn Seippel

Harper Connelly is struck by lightning when she is a teenager. It damages her leg, which never completely heals, and leaves her with a gift although not a gift most people would want to have. Harper can find dead people. She can also pick up the last few seconds of their lives.

Harper is paid to find people who are lost. For this she charges a fee which is her only means of support. Her stepbrother travels with her to take care of everything from finances to her health, and driving the car.

In the third novel in the Harper Connelly series, Harper is sent for by the Doraville, North Carolina sheriff. She and Tolliver find themselves in a small North Carolina mountain town, where five teenage boys have gone missing. When Harper finds their bodies, the rape and torture suggests a serial killer.

Before they can leave town, Harper is attacked outside her hotel room. She doesn't see her attacker, but her injuries, the required police statements, the FBI, and finally an ice storm keep Harper and Tolliver from leaving town. Harper doesn't want to be involved in the search for a serial killer, but she has no choice since the unknown perp intends to murder her.

Harris always writes a good mystery. The usual twists and turns keep the reader turning the pages. An added bonus this time is that Harper's relationship with Tolliver moves forward.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews