Select one of the keywords
Waterloo Sunset    by Martin Edwards order for
Waterloo Sunset
by Martin Edwards
Order:  USA  Can
Poisoned Pen, 2008 (2008)
* *   Reviewed by Mary Ann Smyth

Waterloo Sunset is the eighth of the Harry Devlin series by Martin Edwards. Are you familiar with this tightly written and gripping series? If not, why not? Get with the program.

Harry Devlin has moved into his firm's new law offices in Liverpool. One of his first missives is a notice of his death on Midsummer's Eve. That would shake up anyone. Since the death date is several days hence, he has some time to investigate who would send him such an announcement. And most pressing of all, why?

What could Harry have done to make someone want to kill him? He's a nice guy. But being a lawyer, he could have made an enemy without realizing it. When his partner is savagely attacked, Harry wonders if this is related to that awful announcement. Young women are being murdered. A friend who asked to meet with Harry is found dead - and guess who is a suspect? Now he has to fend off the police as well as a potential killer.

Waterloo Sunset uses Liverpool named European Capital of Culture for 2008 as a background to the thriller, making it one of its unusual characters. The plot gets more and more sinister as each page is quickly turned. Everyone is suspect and Harry isn't sure which way to turn. A stunning denouement reveals the bad guy. I could do with more of Harry Devlin - the sooner the better.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews