Select one of the keywords
Love, Lies and Liquor: An Agatha Raisin Mystery    by M. C. Beaton order for
Love, Lies and Liquor
by M. C. Beaton
Order:  USA  Can
Minotaur, 2006 (2006)
* *   Reviewed by Lisa Respers France

Agatha Raisin is back and she is as feisty as ever! In the 17th novel of this entertaining series, Agatha and her ex-husband James Lacey are off on holiday to what James recalls from his childhood as a quaint seaside vacation destination. But the run down hotel and disappearing shoreline aren't the only surprises in store for the more cross than star crossed lovers.

True to form, there's a murder and thanks to Agatha's quick temper and smart mouth, she's the number one suspect. The pair team up to try and solve the case, and enlist the help of some of Agatha's employees from her detective agency back home. The body count soon grows and the temperamental twosome encounter quite a few characters as they alternately try to find a killer and figure out where their on again/off again relationship is headed.

While this book takes Agatha out of the usual surroundings of her home village of Carsely, many of the usual suspects make an appearance and add to the hilarity. Beaton is a master at mixing a healthy dose of humor with suspense and this latest book continues to deliver. The salty Agatha is not the most likeable character in the world, but Beaton has drawn her in such a way that she can be alternately annoying and amusing. Fans of the series will enjoy this latest installment and the cliffhanger ending will have them waiting with bated breath for the next one.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews