Select one of the keywords
Buster Changes His Luck: Postcards From Buster    by Marc Brown order for
Buster Changes His Luck
by Marc Brown
Order:  USA  Can
Little, Brown & Co., 2006 (2006)
* *   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

The Postcards from Buster series is based on the PBS television show, with books offered at three levels of reading - 1 with recognizable words and simple sentences; 2 with an increased vocabulary and longer sentences; and 3 with more complex stories. In these books, Buster enjoys fact-finding adventures in different American states.

Buster Changes His Luck - aimed at Level 3 Reading - begins with a simple glossary of less familiar words, like scroll and longevity, as well as a STATEtistics page on the city of San Francisco (did you know it's built on 43 hills?) This time, Buster and his dad explore San Francisco during the Chinese New Year (that lasts fifteen days).

Buster learns that tangerines, bamboo, dragons, and the color red bring good luck. He watches the Chinese New Year Parade, listens to firecrackers - and discovers he has 'the very best luck of all.' Enjoy reading this series, and learning about different places from Buster.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Kids books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews