Select one of the keywords
Our Lady of Pain: Edwardian Murder Mysteries    by Marion Chesney order for
Our Lady of Pain
by Marion Chesney
Order:  USA  Can
Minotaur, 2006 (2006)
* *   Reviewed by Lisa Respers France

Marion Chesney, a.k.a. M.C. Beaton, knows her way around a mystery. The beloved author of both the Agatha Raisin series and the Hamish Macbeth series, she infuses her writing with humor, quirky characters and ribald situations. Our Lady of Pain is the fourth entry in an Edwardian series featuring Lady Rose Summer who is both unconventional in her beauty and her politics.

This time around, Lady Rose finds herself in the grip of the green eyed monster after a fancy lady appears to get her grips into Lady Rose's fiancÚ, Captain Harry Cathcart. While their betrothment is fake and an attempt to keep her parents from shipping her off to India, Lady Rose's jealousy of the alluring Dolores Duval is very real. So it doesn't bode well when Dolores ends up dead with Lady Rose standing over the body. From there the action takes off and the reader is left to wonder who the true murderer is and whether Lady Rose and Captain Harry will ever admit their depth of feelings for each other.

This book is an easy read, filled with plenty of near misses and misunderstandings meant to keep things interesting. While it lacks some of the giggle out loud humor of the earlier novels in the series and some of the plot twists strain credulity, Our Lady of Pain still provides a good time and the ending will have fans anxiously awaiting the next book.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews