Select one of the keywords
Buster's Sugartime: Postcards From Buster    by Marc Brown order for
Buster's Sugartime
by Marc Brown
Order:  USA  Can
Little, Brown & Co., 2006 (2006)
* *   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

The Postcards from Buster series is based on the PBS television show, with books offered at three levels of reading - 1 has recognizable words and simple sentences; 2 has an increased vocabulary and longer sentences; and 3 involves more complex stories. These books combines the familiarity of Buster and his friends with fact-finding adventures in different states.

Buster's Sugartime - aimed at Level 2 Reading - begins with a simple glossary of some of the less familiar words - and their phonetic pronunciations - like photographer and sap, as well as a STATEtistics page on Vermont (did you know there are 223 mountains in the Green Mountains of Vermont?) Buster's father takes him on a road trip to the state in 'mud season' (at the end of winter).

As always, Buster sends postcards home, to share the experience with his friends. There's a bonfire and maple treats. Buster learns how to drill for sap, and how maple syrup is made. Buster sure has a sweet time in Vermont - share it with him while reading Buster's Sugartime.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Kids books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews