Select one of the keywords
I Stay Near You: One Story in Three    by M. E. Kerr order for
I Stay Near You
by M. E. Kerr
Order:  USA  Can
Harcourt, 2006 (1985)
Hardcover, Softcover
* * *   Reviewed by Lyn Seippel

Award winning M. E. Kerr - the author of many classic young adult novels including the Books of Fell - has written a poignant trilogy about love and friendship that lasts a lifetime. 'I Stay Near You' refers to the inscription in a gold ring, a family heirloom belonging to the wealthy Storm family.

The first story takes place in the nineteen-forties. The story of Mildred Cone is told by Mildred's classmate, Laura Stewart. Mildred attends East High instead of the school in her own neighborhood in hopes that she'll win a college scholarship that will take her out of the poverty she grew up in on the west side of town. Her hard work comes to nothing when she meets and falls for Powell Storm, Jr., heir to the rope factory that supplies most of the town's jobs. Powell dies a war hero leaving Mildred his ring and carrying his baby.

Vincent Haigney, Mildred's son, is destined to be a great musician. His love affair with Joanne Fitch almost derails him. Years later it still effects his life and his relationships with those who love him.

Powell Storm Haigney tells his story in letters to his rock star dad, Vincent, beginning with a concert they attended together in 1975 when Powell was six years old. Kerr weaves the tale of each generation together while staying true to the period, lifestyle, and the voice of each of her characters.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Teens books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews