Select one of the keywords
Fire Dreams: A Stepping Stone Book    by Mallory Loehr order for
Fire Dreams
by Mallory Loehr
Order:  USA  Can
Random House, 2001 (2001)
* *   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

Fire Dreams follows Water Wishes, Earth Magic and Wind Spell as the fourth book in The Magic Elements Quartet. In these magical adventures, Polly, Sam and (usually) Joe encounter riddles as well as legendary creatures, gods and goddesses from Greek mythology.

This time, the trio read a message from a campfire turned wild, on a field of their grandparents' farm. It tells them 'With first light use copper. At daylight use gold. At moonlight use silver.' They search for items of each metal, after which another fire spits out travel directions, and three Children of Fire (made by the god Hephaestus) accompany them into a volcano, to Mount Olympos, and to a mountain where a Titan is chained.

Again, a magical adventure leads to challenges, success and a reward - this time one that may lead to further adventures with a scrap of parchment that says 'You never know ...'

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Kids books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews