Select one of the keywords
Sleepytime Tales: Little Golden Book Collection    by Golden Books order for
Sleepytime Tales
by Golden Books
Order:  USA  Can
Golden Books, 2004 (2004)
* * *   Reviewed by J. A. Kaszuba Locke

Sleepytime Tales includes 12 uncondensed, time-honored stories, dating from 1942 to 2004 from the Little Golden BookŪ Collection. It has a hard-bound, green cover with etched gold leaves, surrounding four colorful, whimsical characters, and is further enriched by gold-edged pages. Over the years, Golden BookŪ volumes have offered unequalled value in magical, memorable stories, and striking art.

The featured stories here are: The Poky Little Puppy, Baby Dear, The Color Kittens, Good Night Little Bear, The Wonderful House, The Friendly Book, The Three Bears, The Sailor Dog, The Boy and the Tigers, I Can Fly, The Sleepy Book, and How the Turtle Got Its Shell. Preceding each of them is a lead page with the story title and an illustration of the original cover theme. The reproduced artwork (in bright colors and large figures alongside the memorable text) is sure to add a sparkle to children's eyes, and a smile of delight.

Follow the tale of five puppies having fun romping through meadows, and rolling down a hill - 'pell-mell', 'roly-poly', and 'tumble-bumble'. Their Mom does not allow them to have dessert - no strawberry shortcake, no rice pudding, and no chocolate custard, because they misbehaved by digging a hole under the fence time, and time again. In another tantalizing tale, accompany two kittens named 'Brush' and 'Hush', who like to make different colored paints. They finally succeed in mixing blue and yellow, 'And they dreamed that / A green cat danced / With a little pink dog / Till they all disappeared in a soft gray fog'.

Join The Whispering Rabbit, a sleepy bunny who swallows a bumblebee when he yawns, or share the adventures of a dog named 'Scuppers', who is determined to become a sailor. Learn how the turtle got its shell as told in three versions: an Algonquin Native American story, a mythological tale from Greece, and the story of the Creator. Visit a house 'With wings to fly with / and wheels to roll on ... And a boy and a girl live in this house / With a dog and a rabbit and a cat and a mouse ... And they all go flying through the air, / To where they want to go.'

Reading to new generations, parents and grandparents will affectionately recall favorites from Golden BookŪ tales. Sleepytime Tales is a book of treasures to read aloud, linger over, and display proudly on a bookshelf. A second series, entitled Animal Tales, is also available. I recommend these Little Golden BooksŪ collections to read to, and entertain, your babes, toddlers, and pre-schoolers.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Kids books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews