Select one of the keywords
Sleepy ABC    by Margaret Wise Brown & Esphyr Slobodkina order for
Sleepy ABC
by Margaret Wise Brown
Order:  USA  Can
HarperCollins, 2004 (2004)

Read an Excerpt

* *   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

I read Goodnight Moon to, and with, my sons countless times when they were small, so will always have a soft spot for Margaret Wise Brown's delightful picture books. Sleepy ABC combines the lengthy process of getting a little one to bed with verses based on the letters of the alphabet.

It begins 'A is for Aaaaah when a small kitten sighs / B is for Baaaaaa when the lambs close their eyes' and continues on as various creatures prepare for sleep. I especially like the sequence, 'H is for Heaven high over head / I is for me who is going to bed / J is for Jump, and don't bump your head'.

Margaret Wise Brown does her usual empathetic job of capturing the child's eye view of the world around them ('V is for Visions that dance in your head'). Esphyr Slobodkina's bright illustrations present slow bedtime sequences. And the book ends with a touch of humor that both parent and child will enjoy.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Kids books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews