Select one of the keywords
Every Waking Hour: Ellery Hathaway #4    by Joanna Schaffhausen order for
Every Waking Hour
by Joanna Schaffhausen
Order:  USA  Can
Minotaur, 2021 (2021)
Hardcover, e-Book
* * *   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

Every Waking Hour is the fourth entry in Joanna Schaffhausen's mystery series that began with The Vanishing Season and stars Ellery Hathaway. As a teen, Ellery was captured by serial killer Francis Coben - he raped and murdered sixteen before her, but she gained notoriety as the one who got away.

Not wanting that experience to define her, Ellery changed her identity and trained as a police officer. Now she has a beloved basset hound, named Bump, and is in a relationship with Reed Markham, the FBI Agent who rescued her. Fourteen years after her abduction (in the first episode of this series) she contacted him to ask for his help.

As this episode opens, Ellery is working as a Boston detective. She's at a street fair with Reed and his seven-year-old daughter Tula, when a nanny asks for help to find twelve-year-old Chloe Lockhart. Ellery finds Chloe's phone in a trash can. Chloe's mother Teresa reveals that she'd lost another child - her son Trevor was murdered, still an unsolved case.

The plot thickens when her friend McKenna reveals that Chloe had a second phone that someone gave to her. Then Teresa receives a threatening text, demanding 'a 'bad mom' confession' but no ransom - what's that about? As we expect, Ellery and Reed solve both the cold case and the current one, bringing to light other wrongdoings along the way.

This episode ends on a cliffhanger, a missive from Francis Coben, as well as damage to Ellery and Reed's relationship. I look forward to more.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews