Select one of the keywords
Nobody's Sweetheart Now: The First Lady Adelaide Mystery    by Maggie Robinson order for
Nobody's Sweetheart Now
by Maggie Robinson
Order:  USA  Can
Poisoned Pen, 2018 (2018)
Hardcover, Softcover, e-Book
* *   Reviewed by Mary Ann Smyth

Lady Adelaide abruptly finds herself a widow! Happily so! It is 1924 and her husband, Major Rupert Cresleigh Compton, died as he drove his Hispano-Suiza on a Cotswold country road, enjoying the company of a French mademoiselle. Both were killed on impact.

The widow now owns Compton Court. Since her money paid for its necessary renovations, she feels no remorse over becoming the owner of the vast property. As she readies herself to attend a large party at the Court, she hears a voice. Rupert's voice? That couldn't be. Could it?

Seems that Rupert can't be welcomed into heaven until he performs several good deeds! That won't be an easy task for him. Rupert's spirit explains his directive from above while Lady Adelaide works to accept that her husband has returned. He wants her aid and she will do anything to have him gone. A murder occurs and both of them want to find the killer.

Maggie Robinson's Nobody's Sweetheart Now (first in a new series) is a delightful tale, centered on Rupert the spirit and Lady Adelaide's disdain for her late husband. Robinson has a strong sense of humor and this is proven on almost every page.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews