Select one of the keywords
So Mote It Be    by Isobel Bird order for
So Mote It Be
by Isobel Bird
Order:  USA  Can
Avon, 2001 (2001)
Paperback, e-Book
* *   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

This is the first of the Circle of Three series. Kate Morgan is a pretty ordinary girl. She plays basketball, hangs out with her friends and moons over football jock Scott Coogan. Then, researching a history paper on witchcraft, she stumbles over a book of spells in the library and (not really expecting it to work) tries a love spell.

It works overtime. Suddenly all the boys are interested in her; she's become the 'It girl of Beecher Falls High'. She basks in the attention and even applies her spell book again to ace a chemistry test. But then everything goes awry as Kate learns that witchcraft must be handled with great care, and not in the style of The Sorceror's Apprentice. Looking for help, Kate gains two new friends who, unlike her, are outsiders at school. Annie is clever and bookish and Cooper is a guitar-playing nonconformist. Together they visit real witches at the Crones' Circle store, where the the Law of Three is explained to them, and they are advised on how to undo the damage Kate has inadvertently done.

They find that together they can be powerful, but Kate is torn between her old and new (less popular) friends, and afraid of changing her life. Though she initially behaves badly, she eventually works out what she should do. So Mote It Be is a good read about a teenager branching out of the high school conformist crowd to find her own identity, which happens to be that of a witch in a coven of three.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Teens books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews