Select one of the keywords
Margie Makes A Difference: Lady Tigers    by Dawn Brotherton order for
Margie Makes A Difference
by Dawn Brotherton
Order:  USA  Can
Blue Dragon, 2016 (2016)
* *   Reviewed by Jessica Maguire

This second installment of the Lady Tigers series finds Margie, along with her teammates and friends (Trish, Sally, and Nikki), embarking on a journey to victory, triumph, and giving back to their community. The girls prove to be a force to be reckoned with, both on and off the ball field.

Margie and her family are in for tough times when her father, a Master Sargent in the Air Force, is sent on a long deployment. Much to Margie's dismay, his deployment is to start right before her fast pitch team's tournament playoffs. With this deployment Margie has to step up her responsibilities and help out with the household chores and her baby sister. Hurt and angry over her dad's deployment, Margie soon realizes it is best to channel her negative energies into something positive.

The youngster decides she wants to set up a ball camp for the other kids in the community who, like her, are coping with a parent on deployment. Margie enlists the help of the Lady Tigers and coaches to make her goals a reality. Together they learn the importance of teamwork and persistence, sacrifice and sportsmanship, as well as the value of strong friendships.

Will Margie's ambitious plans to help the kids on base be a home run or strike out? Nine to twelve year old readers will find out as they join Margie and her team in learning very valuable life lessons.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Kids books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews