Select one of the keywords
The Fearsome Foursome: Tales From the Haunted Mansion, Volume I    by Amicus Arcane order for
Fearsome Foursome
by Amicus Arcane
Order:  USA  Can
Disney, 2016 (2016)
Hardcover, e-Book
* *   Reviewed by Bob Walch

The Fearsome Foursome is introduced in this collection of four scary stories. The middle school students in the group gather to share spooky tales which are intended to make the hair stand upright on one another's heads.

The youngsters visit a gothic mansion where they encounter the Librarian (Amicus Arcane) who will tell them stories that have each of the students as a central character.

The four suspenseful tales include one about a haunted baseball glove and others about a zombie guinea pig, a monster in a backyard pool and a closed coffin (buried alive idea) scenario.

Accompanied by full page illustrations sprinkled throughout the book, these stories are somewhat scary although more sophisticated young readers will probably think they are more silly than anything else.

I assume there is a Volume II planned as a follow-up to this edition but I'm not so sure I'll be placing it on my To Read list. One go around with Amicus Arcane was enough I think!

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Teens books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews