Select one of the keywords
The Nameless Dead    by Brian McGilloway order for
Nameless Dead
by Brian McGilloway
Order:  USA  Can
HarperCollins, 2015 (2013)
Hardcover, Softcover, e-Book
* *   Reviewed by Lyn Seippel

The Independent Commission for the Location of Victims' Remains is a group looking for the bodies of men known as the Disappeared. These men were targeted by the IRA during the Troubles and never seen again.

Garda Inspector Benedict Devlin is with the commission search team looking for the body of Declan Cleary. Finding Cleary will allow his family to finally lay him to rest in consecrated ground. Instead they find a graveyard of unbaptized babies. Some of the babies appear to have been murdered. The irony is that any evidence found by the commission cannot lead to prosecution.

It spite of the law, Devlin's conscience won't allow him to let the murders of helpless babies go. He starts his own investigation despite his superiors' instructions to leave it alone. Eventually his investigation leads to an ongoing drug and baby selling trade and endangers those closest to him.

This is the fifth in the series of Inspector Benedict Devlin series, an exceptional police procedural taking place on the Irish borderlands. Much of this story is fact-based. McGilloway also writes the Lucy Black series. Both series are worth reading if only for the Irish history.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews