Select one of the keywords
The Borgia Betrayal: Poisoner Mystery Series #2    by Sara Poole order for
Borgia Betrayal
by Sara Poole
Order:  USA  Can
Griffin, 2011 (2011)
Hardcover, Softcover, e-Book

Read an Excerpt

* * *   Reviewed by Wanda Plourde

Rodrigo Borgia has been Pope Alexander VI for almost a year now and his court poisoner Francesca has been diligently keeping him alive. It is the summer of 1493 and Francesca is haunted by her past - sleeping has become a a chore due to horrific nightmares. Francesca's job is not only to keep the Pope alive, but also to keep him on the chair of St. Peter's. But the dangers around him are becoming ever more threatening, and the intrigue and deceit is appalling.

Francesca's old enemy is back, and is very aloof. On some days it seems that he vanishes into thin air. She needs to put an end to him once and for all, for he is a threat not only to the Pope but to everyone surrounding him. Francesca comes up with a very daring plan, one that might end her life. She must battle her own demons and possibly stop a war, while unraveling a plot to destroy the Borgias and seize control of Christendom.

Sara Poole has again written an excellent novel, filled with intrigue, suspense, romance and history. Her descriptions are short and sweet, projecting beautiful pictures alongside the devastation.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Historical books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews