Select one of the keywords
The Season of Second Chances    by Diane Meier order for
Season of Second Chances
by Diane Meier
Order:  USA  Can
Griffin, 2011 (2011)

Read an Excerpt

* * *   Reviewed by Mary Ann Smyth

Joy Harkness has left her teaching post in Cambridge to take a position teaching English Literature at Amherst in Massachusetts. But she's unsure of her sudden plan to leave New York to move on in her career and her life.

Needing some place to hang her hat, she buys a rundown Victorian with way too many rooms and in need of a complete renovation.

Enter Teddy Hennessey, fifteen years younger but with the skills to completely restore the dwelling - including suggesting color schemes and fabrics and lighting. Every home owner's dream. Just one little flaw in the man - Teddy's mother is a harridan who controls every aspect of his life.

The Season of Second Chances tells the story of a woman's awakening to the life she is missing. There are relationships that seem to fall into her lap and that she is finally able to recognize as friendship. The attention of a fine man helps to restore not only her home but her faith in love.

Joining her on her path to a new life, and being a part of her musings as she makes decisions, proves to be delightful as Joy awakens to the choices awaiting her. She takes on three coyotes, three bachelors who woo the new women on campus. She is more than their match. Well, almost. She also proves that no one is ever too old to fall in love.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Contemporary books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews