Select one of the keywords
The Hanging Wood: Lake District Mysteries    by Martin Edwards order for
Hanging Wood
by Martin Edwards
Order:  USA  Can
Poisoned Pen, 2011 (2011)
* *   Reviewed by Mary Ann Smyth

It's the Lake District in England. Twenty years ago, a teenager, Callum Hinds, disappeared. His uncle is suspected of having done the boy harm. He eventually hangs himself in the Hanging Wood. But Callum's sister Orla refuses to believe her brother is dead.

Today, Orla returns to the area after making her life elsewhere. After all this time, why is she back? She still believes her brother is alive and talks of him constantly. Then Orla too disappears, and is found dead in a most horrifying manner.

DCI Hannah Scarlett, head of Cumbria's Cold Case Review Team, takes on the task of looking into Callum's disappearance at the behest of historian Daniel Kind. They follow up old clues and suppositions and are close to uncovering the reality of what happened to the missing boy. Twenty years too late.

Hannah and David seem to be working toward a personal relationship as well as a professional one. The deterrent? Significant others.

Author Martin Edwards has published twelve novels. The Hanging Wood is the fifth in his Lake District series. His rendering of the region makes me want to put that area on my bucket list. I do find it a little confusing at times to have characters with very similar names. But that's a small problem for a good read.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews