Select one of the keywords
The Wrong Side of Magic: Keyholders #4    by Debbie Dadey & Marcia Thornton Jones order for
Wrong Side of Magic
by Debbie Dadey
Order:  USA  Can
Starscape, 2009 (2009)
* *   Reviewed by Hilary Williamson

The Wrong Side of Magic follows Inside the Magic, This Side of Magic, and The Other Side of Magic as the fourth in the Keyholders chapter book series. Keyholders must protect other humdrums by ensuring that 'magic stays out of our world.'

Best friends Luke and Penny - as well as bossy Natalie - live in Morgantown on the edge of dark woods. In the first episode, old Mr. Leery and his talking cat Mo informed the trio they were Keyholders, each with a link to the magical world - small dragon Dracula for Luke, unicorn Kirin for Penny, Buttercup the rat for Natalie. In the second episode the Queen of Boggarts' hobgoblins kidnapped Mr. Leery. In the third adventure, the Keyholders rescued their mentor from the Cave of the Winds, infuriating the Boggart Queen.

Now as The Wrong Side of Magic opens, the Keyholders are kept busy mending breaks in the border while Mr. Leery recovers (helped by Penny's grandma and her soups). Unfortunately changelings sneaks through, replace teachers and other adults, and start making unpleasant changes all over Morgantown. The Keyholders must break the spell and 'rescue the kidnapped people from the Shadow Realm'. Along the way they work on a wormy science project, and Natalie makes her teachers laugh, though not in the way she had planned!

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Kids books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews