Select one of the keywords
Sand Sharks    by Margaret Maron order for
Sand Sharks
by Margaret Maron
Order:  USA  Can
Grand Central, 2009 (2009)
* * *   Reviewed by Lyn Seippel

Judge Deborah Knott and her husband, Deputy Sheriff Dwight Bryant, are scheduled to attend different summer conferences. Deborah's is in Wrightsville Beach. Deborah leaves in a snit over something her stepson did, and arrives depressed and worried about her six month old marriage. Her mood causes her to drink too much, not a good start to the conference.

Things go downhill from there. Deborah discovers the body of a judge and is asked by the investigating detective to be his eyes and ears within the group. Deborah doesn't like reporting on her colleagues, but she's unable to resist trying to solve the murder. The murdered judge's lack of integrity made him unpopular among his peers and his often dangerous resolution of cases make him a target for those he'd harmed.

Deborah also finds her ex-husband in residence at the beachfront hotel. He isn't really an ex, but what else can you call someone you married without realizing he already had a wife?

Judge Knott's mysteries always leave readers satisfied, and Sand Sharks is no exception to the rule. Clues and red herrings keep you guessing until the end. Keeping up with Deborah's personal life is another reason fans won't miss a book.

Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles on this site are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of BookLoons.

Find more Mystery books on our Shelves or in our book Reviews